Return to Heritage Home Page Current Image Gallery Archive Information Center Hubble Art Search
Return to Heritage Home Page Current Release Home Page Caption Fast Facts Biographies Supplemental Material Original Images
Adam Riess

Adam Riess

(Space Telescope Science Institute)

Dr. Adam G. Riess is an astronomer at the Space Telescope Science Institute and a Professor at the Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD. Dr. Riess received his B.S. in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1992 where he was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Society. He received his Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1996. Between 1996 and 1999 Dr. Riess was a Miller Fellow at the University of California at Berkeley. He joined the faculty of Space Telescope Science Institute in 1999.

In 1998, Dr. Riess published the first evidence that the expansion of the Universe was accelerating and was filled with Dark Energy, a result which was called the Breathrough Discovery of the Year by Science Magazine that year. In 1999, Dr. Riess received the Robert J. Trumpler Award from the Astronomical Society of the Pacific for the doctoral thesis with the greatest impact in astrophysics. In 2000, Time Magazine named Dr. Riess one of one hundred "Innovators of the Future" and one of six in the Sciences. In 2002-2003, Dr. Riess received the Bok Prize from Harvard University, the AURA Science Award from STScI, and the Helen B. Warner Prize from the American Astronomical Society. Dr. Riess has presented his work as a participant on the Jim Lehrer News Hour, CNN, NOVA, NPR, and the BBC. Dr. Riess enjoys biking, home improvement, and coin collecting.


Other collaborators on the science team include:





Peter B. Stetson - astronomer at the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory in Victoria B.C. Canada

Alex V. Filippenko - Professor of astronomy at the Astronomy Department at the University of California - Berkeley.

Lincoln J. Greenhill - Radio Astronomer at the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and Lecturer in the Department of Astronomy, Harvard University (Harvard-Smithsonian/CfA)

Weidong Li - Postdoc at the University of California - Berkeley Astronomy Department

Saurabh Jha - Postdoc and Miller Research Fellow at the University of California - Berkeley Asronomy Department

Weidong Li and Alex Filippenko with the Lick Observatory
Katzman Automatic Imaging Telescope (KAIT)

Jay Anders