Return to Heritage Home Page Current Image Gallery Archive Information Center Hubble Art Search
Return to Heritage Home Page Current Release Home Page Caption Fast Facts Biographies Supplemental Material Original Images
David Carter

David Carter

(Liverpool John Moores University)

Dave Carter attended Oxford (BA 1973) and Cambridge (PhD 1977) universities. Following a postdoctoral position back in Oxford, he spent many years working at Observatory sites, at the Anglo-Australian Observatory, then at Mount Stromlo Observatory of the Australian National University, and then for the Isaac Newton Group of telescopes on La Palma. In 1991 he returned to the UK, and spent some time at the Royal Greenwich Observatory developing instrumentation for the La Palma telescopes. In 1996 he moved to Liverpool John Moores University, working with the team developing and then operating the robotic Liverpool Telescope (

His research interests since his PhD have been in the origin and evolution of galaxies, particularly the formation of elliptical galaxies, galaxy mergers, and the evolution of galaxies in clusters.

Shardha Jogee

Shardha Jogee

(University of Texas at Austin)

Shardha Jogee attended Cambridge University in England where she received a B.S. and M.A. in Physics in 1992 and 1995, respectively. She continued her studies at Yale University, earning two Master's degrees (Master of Science and Master of Philosophy) Astronomy in 1994 and a Ph.D. in Astronomy in 1999. She then held a postdoctoral position at Caltech for three years prior to joining the Hubble team at STScI in 2002 as a tenurer-track astronomer. In 2004, she joined the Department of Astronomy at the University of Texas (UT) in Austin where she is currently an Assistant Professor.

Dr. Jogee has contributed greatly to the field of astronomy through her research on disk galaxies. The common thread in much of her research is understanding galaxy evolution in various unique settings: mergers, interactions, cluster environments, starburst galaxies, barred galaxies, etc.



Coma HST Treasury Proposal Team Members

* David Carter - Liverpool John Moores University
* Bahram Mobasher - STScI
* Paul Goudfrooij - STScI
* Thomas Puzia - Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics
* Harry Ferguson - STScI
* Neil Trentham - Ioa Cambridge
* Alister Graham - Swinburne, Australia
* Rafael Guzman - University of Florida
* David Merritt - Rochester Institute of Technology
* Dan Batcheldor - Rochester Institute of Technology
* Sharda Jogee - University of Texas
* John Lucey - University of Durham
* Russell Smith - University of Durham
* Ray Sharples - University of Durham
* Mustapha Moucine - Liverpool John Moores University
* Reynier Peletier - Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, Groningen
* Edwin A. Valentijn - OmegaCEN/Kapteyn Astronomical Institute, Groningen
* Marc Balcells - Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias
* Sadanori Okamura - University of Tokyo
* Yutaka Komiyama - Subaru observatory
* Jon Davies - Cardiff University
* Steve Phillipps - University of Bristol
* Bianca Poggianti - Osservatorio di Padova
* Terry Bridges - Queens University, Kingston, Ontario.
* Mike Hudson - University of Waterloo
* Bryan Miller - Gemini, Chile
* Jennifer Lotz - NOAO, Tucson
* Ann Hornschemeier - NASA Goddard
* Neal Miller - Johns Hopkins
* Brent Tully - IFA Hawaii
* Peter Erwin - MPIE
* J. Alfonso L. Aguerri - IAC
* Avon Huxor - University of Bristol
* Ron Marzke - San Francisco State University
* Derek Hammer - Johns Hopkins University
* Leigh Jenkins - NASA Goddard