Return to Heritage Home Page Current Image Gallery Archive Information Center Hubble Art Search
Return to Heritage Home Page Current Release Home Page Caption Fast Facts Biographies Supplemental Material Fast Facts
Steven A. Rodney

Steve Rodney


Steven Rodney is an Assistant Research Scientist in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore MD. Steve obtained his B.S. degrees in physics and astronomy from Case Western Reserve University and went on to complete a Masters (2005) and a Ph.D. from the University of Hawaii, Manoa (2010). His main research interests include many facets of supernovae: Type Ia, peculiar, rates, light curves, as well as Transiting Objects and Dark Energy.

Dr. Rodney is heavily involved in several large observing programs with the Hubble Space Telescope: the CANDELS, CLASH, and Pan-STARRS projects.

Image courtesy: Steven Rodney

Adam Riess

Adam Riess


Dr. Adam G. Riess is an Astrophysicist at the Space Telescope Science Institute and a Professor at the Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, MD. Dr. Riess received his B.S. in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1992 where he was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Society. He received his Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1996. Between 1996 and 1999, Dr. Riess was a Miller Fellow at the University of California at Berkeley. He joined the faculty of Space Telescope Science Institute in 1999.

The Road to the Nobel Prize

1998: Dr. Riess published the first evidence that the expansion of the Universe was accelerating and was filled with Dark Energy, a result which was called the Breathrough Discovery of the Year by Science Magazine that year. (See notebook of findings.)

1999: He received the Robert J. Trumpler Award from the Astronomical Society of the Pacific for the doctoral thesis with the greatest impact in astrophysics.

2000: Time Magazine named Dr. Riess one of one hundred "Innovators of the Future" and one of six in the Sciences.

2001: Receives Harvard University's Bok Prize.

2003: Wins the American Astronomical Society's Helen B. Warner Prize in 2003.

2004: Receives Tel Aviv University's Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize for the discovery of cosmic acceleration.

2006: He shared the $1 million Shaw Prize in Astronomy with Saul Perlmutter and Brian Schmidt for contributions to the discovery of the acceleration of the universe.

2007: Schmidt and members of the High-Z Team (Riess et al. 1998) shared theGruber Cosmology Prize, a $500,000 award, with the Supernova Cosmology Project (Perlmutter et al. 1999) for their discovery of the accelerating expansion of the universe.

2008: Riess was the winner of MacArthur "Genius" Grant in 2008.

2009: Inducted to the National Academy of Sciences.

2011: Along with Perlmutter and Schmidt, he was awarded the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics for his contributions to the discovery of the acceleration of the expansion of the universe.

Image courtesy: Will Kirk/The Johns Hopkins University